Tell Rahm Emanuel: No Coke Ads on Residential Recycling Bins

If we don’t act now, the steady erosion of ad-free personal space and the escalation of unavoidable marketing will get a lot worse.
 
This week, the City of Chicago announced that Coca-Cola will donate 50,000 blue bins for household recycling. Sounds generous, but it’s really a cleverly disguised purchase of advertising space. In exchange, the bin lids will feature images of Coca-Cola products. 
 
Real generosity doesn't come with a quid pro quo. Chicago families should be able to take out their trash without having to look at in-your-face Coke ads. And no city should enlist its residents to become advertisers without their consent. It’s an unprecedented commercial encroachment on private homes—and a dangerous precedent. That’s why, even if you don’t live in Chicago, you should tell Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel that recycling bins should be commercial-free. 

Image: City of Chicago recycling webpage

Dear Mayor Emanuel,

I am writing to urge you to cancel your plan to distribute residential recycling bins with pictures of Coca-Cola products on the lids.

Putting ads on recycling bins is an unprecedented commercial encroachment on private homes. Chicago residents should be able to take out their trash without encountering unavoidable in-your-face Coke ads. And no city should enlist its residents to become advertisers without their consent.

It’s great that Chicago is expanding its residential recycling program, but a real generosity doesn’t come with a quid pro quo. Please tell Coca-Cola that recycling bins in Chicago must be free of any product advertising or branding.

Sincerely,
Optional Member Code


1-25 of 1070 signatures
Number Date Name Location
1070 Sat Apr 12 23:52:09 EDT 2014 Oriana Spizzo Belleville, IL
1069 Thu Mar 06 15:47:34 EST 2014 Anonymous America , CA
1068 Wed Jan 01 12:34:37 EST 2014 Meredith Anderson Orwell, VT
1067 Sun Dec 22 23:07:57 EST 2013 Rebecca Mongiat Chicago, IL
1066 Tue Dec 10 14:24:00 EST 2013 Joy Chambers Worcester, MA
1065 Wed Oct 02 00:04:30 EDT 2013 Anonymous Chicago, IL
1064 Tue Oct 01 23:54:00 EDT 2013 Leia Ui Dhalaigh Chicago, IL
1063 Thu Sep 26 17:21:04 EDT 2013 Diane Meek Coquitlam, BC, AL
1062 Fri Aug 30 00:16:51 EDT 2013 julie falco chicago, IL
1061 Wed Aug 21 23:20:35 EDT 2013 DENNIS HARP FAIRIELD, CA
1060 Sat Aug 10 20:56:35 EDT 2013 Idie Benjajamin White Plains , NY
1059 Thu Aug 08 23:27:17 EDT 2013 Melinda McSorley Littleton, CO
1058 Thu Jul 11 16:29:45 EDT 2013 siobhan Cafferty Chicago, IL
1057 Wed Jul 03 23:48:42 EDT 2013 ROBERT GREGER CANTON, CT
1056 Tue Jun 25 14:56:11 EDT 2013 Anonymous Jamaica Plain, MA You could offer to sell people their recycling bins...i am sure many would love to pay for it in order to avoid the marketing.
1055 Mon Jun 24 13:37:02 EDT 2013 Harry and Kathy Brownfield Newport, PA
1054 Sun Jun 23 21:48:46 EDT 2013 Amy Reichbach Studio City, CA
1053 Mon Jun 17 22:05:02 EDT 2013 Anonymous Columbus, OH
1052 Thu May 30 19:13:51 EDT 2013 Roberta Beach St. Paul, MN This is absolutely disgusting, but should we really be surprised? Long before he was a school-closer, Rahm Emanuel (who does not believe people are wise enough to vote outside the "D" party) was More....
1051 Thu May 30 01:23:27 EDT 2013 Anonymous San Carlos, CA
1050 Fri May 24 18:00:39 EDT 2013 Anonymous Denver, CO
1049 Fri May 17 17:27:34 EDT 2013 L Gols Natick, MA
1048 Fri May 17 14:23:52 EDT 2013 Patrick Baron Montreuil, AK
1047 Thu May 16 10:37:20 EDT 2013 Barbara Myers Winnetka, IL
1046 Thu May 16 10:35:01 EDT 2013 Barbara Myers Winnetka, IL Nutrition experts and Michelle Obama have been all over the media stating that the best way to get a jump on ending the childhood obesity epidemic in this country is to reduce the consumption of sugary More....
Next ->